The National Committee for Gender Equity is responsible for ensuring that the Australian Institute of Architects policy has an effect. Through the committee, the Institute has  signed up as an inaugural major sponsor of Parlour


In late 2013, a major breakthrough for gender equity in the profession of architecture was achieved with the Australian Institute of Architects National Council officially approving the organisation’s first Gender Equity Policy. National Council also endorsed the establishment of a National Committee on Gender Equity (NCGE), tasked with applying the principles outlined in the policy to Institute initiatives and operations and supporting the architecture profession to do the same.

The NCGE is comprised of the following members:

  • Emma Williamson (Chair): CODA Studio
  • Eli Giannini (Dep. Chair): McGauran Giannini SoonNaomi Stead: University of Queensland
  • Jessica O’Shea: Arqus Design
  • Lee Hillam: Dunn & Hillam Architects
  • Michael Smith: Atelier Red and Black
  • Steve Grieve: Grieve Gillett
  • Andrew Broffman: Tangentyere Design
  • Rob Henry: Rob Henry Architects
  • Leone Lorrimer: dwp | suters
  • Naomi Stead, University of Queensland

The Institute has recently signed on as a major partner of Parlour; this supports Parlour to continue the amazing work they have done in creating a platform for conversation, raising awareness of the issue of gender equity and supporting all of us as we make the changes necessary to improve the full engagement of women in our industry. Through this partnership, the Institute will be working to better support and advance women in architecture. Keep an eye on this section of the Parlour website to learn more about upcoming initiatives of the NCGE.

If you would like to get in touch with the NCGE, you can do so by writing to